Champagne & Sparkling Wine World Championships 2015

03 September, 2015

Champagne Roederer’s Cristal Rosé 2004 is the Champagne & Sparkling Wine World Championships’ 2015 Supreme World Champion.

There were 11 national champions and Trentodoc producer Ferrari collected a new award for Sparkling Wine Producer of the Year in recognition of the company’s achievement in collecting nine gold medals and seven best in class awards for its nine entries. Additionally, Cuvage Rosé from Piemonte received the Chairman’s Trophy, awarded this year for the most exciting classic brut-style sparkling wine produced from an indigenous variety (Nebbiolo).

The awards were announced by competition founder Tom Stevenson and fellow judge master of wine, Essi Avellan.

The 11 outstanding national champions were chosen from more than 100 Best in Class sparkling wines. They are:

· Best Australian Sparkling Wine 2015 - House of Arras 2005 Grand Vintage Brut;

· Best Canadian Sparkling Wine 2015 - Trius NV Brut;

· Best English Sparkling Wine 2015 - Nyetimber 2010 Classic Cuvée;

· Best French Sparkling Wine 2015 - Louis Roederer 2004 Cristal Rosé;

· Best German Sparkling Wine 2015 - Solter 2009 Rheingau Riesling Sekt Réserve Brut;

· Best Italian Sparkling Wine 2015 - Ferrari Perlé 2006 Trentodoc in magnum;

· Best New Zealand Sparkling Wine 2015 - Hunter’s 2010 Mirumiru Reserve;

· Best Serbian Sparkling Wine 2015 - Trijumf 2009 Chardonnay Blanc de Blancs Extra Brut;

· Best South African Sparkling Wine 2015 - Avondale 2009 Armilla Blanc de Blanc Brut;

· Best Spanish Sparkling Wine 2015 - Segura Viudas NV Reserva Heredad Pinot Noir;

· Best US Sparkling Wine 2015 - Caraccioli Cellars 2007 Brut.

Before presenting Nyetimber with their award, Stevenson said: “With 13 gold medals and 11 silvers, England was the third most successful sparkling wine country in this year’s Champagne and Sparkling Wine World Championships. If English sparkling wine can build a world class reputation and achieve the competitive success to match it on such young vineyards and with very little reserve wine, imagine what might be achieved as the vineyards mature and producers build up their reserves.”

The complete list of trophies, best in class, gold and silver medal winners for 2015 is on: They will be published with full tasting notes and price categories for each wine in Tom Stevenson’s Champagne & Sparkling Wine Guide 2016, due to be published in October.

The CSWWC claims to be the first and only terroir-driven competition judged exclusively by renowned fizz experts, all of whom taste each and every wine submitted to guarantee an unprecedented level of consistency and accuracy of judging.

Digital Edition

Drinks International digital edition is available ahead of the printed magazine. Don’t miss out, make sure you subscribe today to access the digital edition and all archived editions of Drinks International as part of your subscription.


La'Mel Clarke

Service isn’t servitude: the skill of hosting

La’Mel Clarke, front of house at London’s Seed Library, looks at the forgotten art of hosting and why it deserves the same respect as bartending.