Celebrate Laphroaig’s 200th anniversary

10 September, 2015

Islay single malt whisky, Laphroaig celebrates its 200th anniversary this year and to mark this the annual Laphroaig Live will be hosted on the island.

On Thursday September 24 at 8pm/22.00 (GMT) the event will be broadcast live on the web.

Laphroaig’s distillery manager John Campbell will be joined by five of the previous distillery managers. They will taste four special expressions: The one-off Laphroaig 15 Year Old – the official 200th Expression; Laphroaig Cairdeas 2015 - distilled using only the original small stills; Laphroaig 21 YO – created for the Friends of Laphroaig 21st Birthday; and a ‘unique’ Laphroaig 32 YO - 100% sherry matured, a very rare, special expression.

Campbell will also be joined by two experts Bernhard Schafer - whisky journalist and Master of the Quaich and Emma Andersson, editor of Allt Om Whisky.

The Beam Suntory brand is also hoping for a worldwide audience of Laphroaig lovers, including a live link to Laphroaig US whisky ambassador Simon Brooking who will be joined by 75 ‘Friends of Laphroaig’ via a live link to New York.

Questions for the panel are being encouraged. Join the conversation on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook with #LaphroaigLive

To celebrate this special occasion, Laphroaig will be attempting to set a world record by encouraging the whole global audience to raise a toast to Laphroaig on their 200th anniversary.

To watch Laphroaig Live use the following link: http://www.laphroaig.com/live/

Some global times of Laphroaig Live on the September 24:

UK 20.00

New York 16.00

Los Angeles 13.00

Sydney 06.00 (September 25)

Stockholm 22.00

Berlin 22.00





Comment

Dominic Roskrow

The serious business of bourbon

This is most odd. I’m standing with two American gentlemen in the corner of a very swish steak bar staring at a surreal painting of what we’re being told is a ship exploding as it sails towards a lighthouse. I think.

Click for more »

Events

Facebook

Twitter